MAP | CALMAIL |
Combustion Modeling Lab at UC Berkeley

Former Graduate Students

Xian Shi

xshi@berkeley.edu

M.S. Thesis Title: Fuel-dithering Optimization of TWC Efficiency on Natural Gas IC Engines (2014)
Ph.D. Thesis Title: Fundamental Processes in Combustion of Stratified Mixtures (2017)


Daniel I. Pineda

dpineda@berkeley.edu

M.S. Thesis Title: Modeling biomass gasification surface reactions: the effect of hydrogen inhibition (2014)
Ph.D. Thesis Title: Advanced ignition for automotive engines (2017)


Yulin Chen

yulinchen@berkeley.edu

M.S. Thesis Title: Towards improved automatic chemical kinetic model reduction and application for gasoline surrogates (2017)


Tiernan Casey

tcasey@berkeley.edu

Ph.D. Thesis Title: Electric field effects in combustion with non-thermal plasma (2016)


Yumin Huang

hymin@berkeley.edu

M.S. Thesis Title: Dynamic Behavior of Three-way Catalyst to Variations in Equivalence Ratio (2015)


Colin Hurlbut

echurlbut@gmail.com

M.S. Thesis Title: Characterization of the Spray Angle and Penetration Depth of Helium-Argon Jets (2015)


Terry L. McCullum, Jr.

terrymacc@berkeley.edu

M.S. Thesis Title: Numerical Analysis of Flame Propagation in Stratified Hydrogen-Air Mixtures (2015)


Benjamin Wolk

bmwolk@berkeley.edu

Ph.D. Thesis Title: Fundamental Interactions in Gasoline Compression Ignition Engines with Fuel Stratification (2014)


Don (Romy) Frederick

don.frederick@berkeley.edu

Ph.D. Thesis Title: Numerical Investigations of a Hydrogen Jet Flame in a Vitiated Coflow (2013)


Anthony DeFilippo

acflip@berkeley.edu

Ph.D. Thesis Title: Microwave-Assisted Ignition for Improved Internal Combustion Engine Efficiency (2013)


Gregory Chin

gchin@berkeley.edu

M.S. Thesis Title: Development and Validation of a Reduced DME Mechanism Applicable to Various Combustion Modes in Internal Combustion Engines (2012)


Li-Chun (Ricky) Chien

lcchien@berkeley.edu

Ph.D. Thesis Title: Assessment of Reduced Mechanisms Using One Dimensional Stochastic Turbulence Model (2010)


Nicholas DeForest

nicholas.deforest@me.berkeley.edu

M.S. Thesis Title: Refinement of five-component gasoline surrogate model for HCCI applications (2009)


Yuk Fai Tham

yukfai99@yahoo.com

M.S. Thesis Title: Improvements in Skeletal Mechanism Generation and in In-Situ Adaptive Tabulation (2003)
Ph.D. Thesis Title: ISAT, Development of skeletal and reduced chemistry (2007)


Fabrizio Bisetti

fbisetti@newton.berkeley.edu

Ph.D. Thesis Title: LES of turbulent flames with Joint PDF Apprach (2007)


John Chen

yihann@uclink.berkeley.edu

M.S. Thesis Title: Experimental Exploration of Small 2-Stroke Engines under HCCI (2003)
Ph.D. Thesis Title: Integration, Improvement, and Validation of the ACID Model in KIVA3V CFD: Simulation for Predicting SOC in HCCI Engines (2006)


Young Choi

apermana@newton.me.berkeley.edu

Ph.D. Thesis Title: Prediction of the Start-of-Combustion by Using Artificial Neural Network and Ignition Delay (2005)


Francis P. Kelly

fkp4@newton.berkeley.edu

MSE Project Title: Fuel Rich Combustion of a Syngas-air Mixture on a Platinum Catalytic Combustion (2004)


Adhi D. Permana

apermana@newton.me.berkeley.edu

Ph.D. Thesis Title: Adaptive Monte Carlo Methods for PDF Modeling of Opposed Jet Reacting Flows (2003)


Pamela Goyal

pgoyal@newton.me.berkeley.edu

M.S. Project Title: Development of Skeletal Chemistry Mechanisms for Combustion Modeling - A study of current methods (2002)


Qianlong Liu

qianlong@newton.me.berkeley.edu

MSE Project Title: Inviscid Instability Analysis of Triple Flames (2002)


Zheng Wang

zheng@firefly.me.berkeley.edu

Ph.D. Thesis Title: Numerical Modeling of Chemistry, Turbulent Mixing and Aerosol Dynamics in Near-Field Aircraft Plumes (1998)


Chen-Pang Chou

cpchou@firebrand.me.berkeley.edu

Ph.D. Thesis Title: Numerical Studies of Methane-Air Combustion in Homogeneous and Hetrogeneous Systems with Detailed Chemistry (1998)


Rebecca Arlene Varela

rvarela@firefly.me.berkeley.edu

M.S. Thesis Title: Numerical Investigation of Curvature and Stretch Effects on Premixed Flames (1997)


Ryan A. Noguchi

noguchi@courier4.aero.org

M.S. Thesis Title: Flow Reactor Experiments and Numerical Modeling of Natural Gas Combustion Catalyzed by Supported Platinum (1996)


Wei-Chen Chang

wcchang@firefly.me.berkeley.edu

Ph.D. Thesis Title: Modeling of NOx Formation in Turbulent Flames- Development Mechanisms and Mixing Models (1995)